Hackensack High School Guidance Department

  •  

    Ms. Talin Hovsepian, Supervisor  thovsepian@hackensackschools.org

    Ms. Chapin Cooke, Secretary ccooke@hackensackschools.org

    201-646-7920/21

     

    GUIDANCE DEPT NEWS (updated June 2022)

     

    2022 SUMMER SCHOOL OPTIONS

     

    Summer College Workshop for Rising Seniors

    This summer the Guidance Department will be hosting a College Planning Workshop to help rising seniors prepare for their college applications. The workshop will run from 9:00-3:00pm at Hackensack High School (lunch is provided) and there are 5 dates to choose from:  August 2, 3, 4, 10, 11.  The same workshop will be held each day, students may only attend once.  

    We encourage any student who is considering applying to college to attend. Space is limited and students can REGISTER HERE  (note, STUDENTS MUST SIGN IN WITH THEIR HHS EMAIL). 

    Topics Covered:

    • What is the College Essay and Who Reads It? Suggestions to Improve Your Essay
    • Common Application Overview and Creation of Accounts
    • Letters of Recommendation Discussion (review forms)
    • College Representative Panel (what colleges are looking for)

    Students will be contacted via email with the date they have been assigned.

                                      

    Welcome to the Hackensack High School Guidance Department Website.  School Counselors are here to help students and their families adjust to high school expectations and procedures as well as to help guide students toward positive academic growth.  School Counselors are available to students during the school day and are available to meet with parents by appointment.  Counselors may also be contacted by phone or via email.  We encourage your participation in your child's high school education.

     Mission Statement

     

    The mission of Hackensack High School’s guidance program is to work closely with students to develop competencies in the areas of academic, personal/social, and career development.  Through individual counseling and group presentations, counselors help students understand their learning strengths and areas to develop; select appropriate courses; plan for the transition to college and/or career training; and meet personal challenges in a mature, productive way.  The Hackensack High School Guidance Department helps individuals and their families to make decisions and empowers students to become life long learners to succeed in a global and technological society.

     

    School Counselors 

     

    Ms. Kara Ferrazzano

    kferrazzano@hackensackschools.org                                      201-646-6826

     

    Ms. Colleen Krenn

    ckrenn@hackensackschools.org                                              201-646- 7917

     

    Ms. Luz Lomeli                                                                          201-646-7914

    llomeli@hackensackschools.org

     

    Ms. Margarita Magner         

    mmagner@hackensackschools.org                                          201-646-7915

     

    Ms. Lucinda McConnachie                                                      201-646-7897

    lmcconnachie@hackensackschools.org

                                                  

    Ms. Terry Rauschberg

    trauschberg@hackensackschools.org                                      201-646- 7918

     

    Mr. Randy Stamm

    rstamm@hackensackschools.org                                             201-646-7919

      

     

    Social Worker:

    Mr. Ryan Levy        

    rlevy@hackensackschools.org                                           201-646-7916

     

    Student Assistance Counselor:

    Ms. Iris Koonin         

    ikoonin@hackensackschools.org                                              201-646-1384  

     

    Follow us on Instagram

    Image result for instagram

    @hhsguidance